Attend the Business Meeting to Participate in the Fellowship Vote for AAOS Leaders

By: Donna J. Malert, CAE

Voting on the slate of candidates recommended by the 2018 Nominating Committee will occur during the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on Thursday at 9:15 a.m. in La Nouvelle Ballroom of the Morial Convention Center. The new leaders will take office at the conclusion of the AAOS 2018 Annual Meeting.

The 2018 Nominating Committee has identified and will submit the following candidates for the named positions:

  • Second Vice-President: Joseph A. Bosco III, MD
  • Member-at-Large (age 45 or older): Elizabeth G. Matzkin, MD
  • Member-at-Large (under age 45): Thomas W. Throckmorton, MD
  • Treasurer-Elect: Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, MBA
  • Four nominees and two alternates to the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS):

o   Matthew B. Dobbs, MD

o   Michael F. Fry, MD

o   Kevin L. Garvin, MD

o   William R. Martin III, MD

o   Donald H. Lee, MD (Alternate)

o   Afshin Razi, MD (Alternate)

The business meetings will also consider resolutions and propose amendments to the AAOS bylaws, as well as hear reports from the AAOS treasurer, the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation, and the Political Action Committee of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons.      

Electronic-only balloting scheduled for April 2018

AAOS will transition to an electronic-only balloting process for approval of bylaws amendments, resolutions, and nominees for the 2019 Nominating Committee. Electronic balloting will open in late April and communication about the balloting process will be distributed via email.

Visit (login required) to ensure that your email address is current. To update your email address, click on “Account Settings.”

Donna J. Malert, CAE, is director of governance at AAOS. She can be reached at