Award Presentations at the Annual Meeting

The winners of the 2017 Kappa Delta Awards and the 2017 Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award will be recognized during the premier Your Academy 2017 event on Thursday, March 16, beginning at 10:30 a.m. in Ballroom 20.

Established by the Kappa Delta Sorority in 1949 and generally recognized as the first award ever created to honor achievements in the field of orthopaedic research, the Kappa Delta Award was first presented at the AAOS Annual Meeting held in 1950. Since then, the Kappa Delta Sorority and the Kappa Delta Foundation have raised and given more than $1 million to support orthopaedic research.

Three Kappa Delta Awards will be presented. The Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn and Elizabeth Winston Lanier Awards recognize individuals who have performed research in orthopaedic surgery that is of high significance and impact and who have built a body of cohesive scientific work generally reflecting years of investigation. The Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award is presented to an individual younger than age 40 (or no more than 7 years beyond training) for basic and/or clinical research that relates to the musculoskeletal system.

The OREF Clinical Research Award was first presented in 1995 to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics. The award recognizes clinical research related directly to musculoskeletal disease or injury. Eligible applicants must be members of the AAOS, the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), the Canadian Orthopaedic Association, or the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society.

The award-winning papers will be presented during the ORS annual meeting.

2017 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award
Robin Queen, PhD, FACSM, of Virginia Tech, for “Using Lower Extremity Biomechanics in Patients with Ankle Osteoarthritis and Ankle Arthroplasty to Direct Clinical Care.”

2017 Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award
Matthew Dobbs, MD,
of Washington University in St. Louis, and coauthor Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD, for “Advancing Precision Medicine for Clubfoot Treatment Through Basic Research.”

2017 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award
Scott W. Wolfe, MD,
of Hospital for Special Surgery/Weill Medical College of Cornell University, and coauthor Joseph J. Crisco III, PhD, for “Kinematics of the Normal and Injured Wrist: The Importance of the Midcarpal Joint.”

2017 OREF Clinical Research Award
Henrik Malchau, MD, PhD,
of Sahlgrenska University Hospital, and coauthors Göran Garellick, MD, PhD; Daniel Berry, MD; and William H. Harris, MD, ScD; for “Arthroplasty Implant Registries Over the Past Five Decades: Development, Current and Future Impact.”

Other awards
The AAOS Humanitarian, Diversity, and William W. Tipton Jr, MD, Leadership Awards will also be presented during Thursday’s Your Academy 2017.

The best Scientific Poster in each anatomic category and the best all-around Scientific Poster will be recognized during the Poster Award Ceremony and Breakfast, on Friday, March 17, beginning at 7:00 a.m. in Academy Hall. The poster award winners will be announced in the Friday Daily Edition, AAOS Now.