AAOS Education Enhancement Fund

By: Sharon Johnson

By Sharon Johnson

This week marks the formal launch of the new AAOS Education Enhancement Fund, established to enhance surgeon education and, by extension, patient care. An offshoot of the expanded partnership between AAOS and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF), the fund attracted more than $80,000 in contributions prior to Annual Meeting, primarily through word of mouth.

“We’re very encouraged by the enthusiasm this new effort has stirred, and by the generosity of the early contributors to the fund,” said AAOS President John J. Callaghan, MD. “Ninety-plus percent have given at the Founding Member level of $2,500 or more.”

Sustaining AAOS leadership in education
The AAOS Education Enhancement Fund was established in December 2010 as a way to continue the Academy’s tradition of leadership in surgeon education. The goal is to create an ongoing source of support for existing and new surgeon education programs to ensure they remain effective, engaging, and accessible to AAOS members.

As the fund grows, the plan calls for a range of initiatives designed to add depth and dimension to Academy educational programs. For example, all AAOS members will benefit from the development of performance improvement modules for incorporation in the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program and expanded MOC resources. The fund will also facilitate the addition of educational outreach programs, such as scholarships for residents to attend Academy courses.

“Education is the foundation of everything we do for our patients. I am where I am today because of opportunities made possible by people before me,” said Naomi Shields, MD. “The AAOS is orthopaedic education, and this fund gives me the opportunity to help others achieve their dreams.”

Contribute at the OREF exhibit or online
Gifts to the AAOS Education Enhancement Fund are being accepted at the OREF exhibit, opposite Academy Hall, in Ballroom Lobby 6 (upper level), and online at

Sharon Johnson, vice president, communications for OREF, may be reached at

Founding Members
Edward Akelman, MD

Frederick M. Azar, MD

William P. Barrett, MD

James H. Beaty, MD

Daniel J. Berry, MD

Kevin P. Black, MD

Robert W. Bucholz, MD

John J. Callaghan, MD

S. Terry Canale, MD

Robert D. D’Ambrosia, MD

David M. Dines, MD

Matthew B. Dobbs, MD

Jeffrey S. Fischgrund, MD

Evan L. Flatow, MD

Mark C. Gebhardt, MD

Richard H. Gelberman, MD

William A. Grana, MD, MPH

Karen L. Hackett, FACHE

Harry N. Herkowitz, MD

James H. Herndon, MD

Joshua J. Jacobs, MD

William A. Jiranek, MD

Richard F. Kyle, MD

William J. Maloney, MD

Peter J. Mandell, MD

William R. Martin III, MD

Joseph C. McCarthy, MD

Gregory A. Mencio, MD

Michael A. Mont, MD

Michael L. Parks, MD

Richard N. Peterson, Esq.

Charles T. Price, MD

Michael F. Schafer, MD

Naomi N. Shields, MD

Franklin H. Sim, MD

Kenneth M. Singer, MD

Mr. Richard Stewart

David Teuscher, MD

Vernon T. Tolo, MD

John R. Tongue, MD

Paul Tornetta III, MD

Stuart L. Weinstein, MD

Mr. Mark W. Wieting

Gerald R. Williams Jr, MD

Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD