Good news after challenging year

By: Peter Pollack

By Peter Pollack

Applause greeted the new slate of AAOS officers as they were announced yesterday during the back-to-back business meetings of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons. Outgoing AAOS President Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD, welcomed John R. Tongue, MD, to the presidential line as second vice president, along with the following new members of the AAOS Board of Directors:

  • Fred C. Redfern, MD, secretary of the Board of Counselors
  • Gregory A. Mencio, MD, secretary of the Board of Specialty Societies
  • Kevin P. Black, MD, member-at-large
  • Daniel W. White, MD, member-at-large

Dr. Zuckerman also took the opportunity to thank departing board members E. Anthony Rankin, MD (past president); Thomas C. Barber, MD; Leesa M. Galatz, MD; William J. Robb III, MD; and Michael F. Schafer, MD; as well as exiting chair of the Communications Cabinet, Frank B. Kelly, MD.

In his treasurer’s report, Frederick M. Azar, MD, called 2008 a “challenging year.” Dr. Azar explained that AAOS showed operating income of $525,000—the fifth consecutive year of positive results—but the organizations took an investment loss of $17.5 million and net assets decreased by $19.2 million. The good news, he said, was that AAOS was given a clean audit.

The unaudited 2009 results showed improvement, he said, with a net operating income of $1.7 million and all investment portfolios realizing gains.

William P. Cooney III, MD, presented the report from the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF). OREF now has 41 different orthopaedic organization partners, he said, with a $20 million investment pool.

The Political Action Committee (PAC) report was presented by Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, who explained that “advocacy is part of the value proposition of being a member of the Association.”

“We are in a $2.5 trillion dollar industry that is heavily regulated,” he said, “and we need to be at the table.

“Two of our highest priorities are the two orthopaedic surgeons who are members of Congress, John A. Barrasso, MD, in the Senate and Thomas E. Price, MD, in the House,” Dr. Weinstein continued. “Our job as a PAC is to keep these individuals in Washington. Hopefully, some of you will take up the challenge and want to join them in Congress.”

Committee recommendations
On behalf of the Resolutions Committee, Robert E. Eilert, MD, recommended acceptance of six resolutions—three Academy and two Association resolutions adopted in 2005 and submitted for 5-year review, and one new Association resolution.

George T. Shybut, MD, presented the recommendations of the Bylaws Committee.