Business meetings end with election of new officers

The annual business meetings of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons were held yesterday.

Academy business meeting report

AAOS Treasurer William L. Healy, MD, provided a report on AAOS finances and his predictions for the immediate future. “With flat revenues, increasing expenses, and decreasing reserves,” he said, “the AAOS will need to rebalance the distribution of revenues and expenses, establish financial priorities, and review investment goals to conserve principal. The future is bright, however, because the Academy is mission-driven, with dedicated volunteers and an excellent staff.”

The report of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) was presented by S. Terry Canale, MD, chair-elect, OREF Board of Trustees.

Robert E. Eilert, MD, chair of the Resolutions Committee, presented the committee’s recommendations on the two Academy resolutions under consideration.

Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, chair of the Political Action Committee of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons, provided his report at the annual business meeting.

Association business meeting report

During the Association meeting, nominations for the 2009 Nominating Committee were accepted from the floor. Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, chair of the Political Action Committee of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons, provided his report.

“Every dollar donated is spent on advocacy,” he reported. “We are looking to increase our giving at the district level and to involve more members to serve as effective advocates for orthopaedics.”

Dr. Eilert reported on the Resolutions Committee’s recommendations on the two Association resolutions.

George Lucas, MD, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Bylaws Committee’s recommendations on Bylaws Amendment Group #1, which would revise the process for evaluating proposed resolutions, bylaw amendments and Standards of Professionalism (SOPs). The Bylaws Committee concurred with the Board of Directors (BOD), the Board of Councilors (BOC), and the Board of Specialty Societies (BOS) that Bylaws Amendment Group #1 not be adopted; it will be withdrawn and will not be considered by the fellowship.

The Bylaws Committee recommended that the fellowship not adopt the proposed SOPs on New Technology or New Techniques. The committee agreed with concerns expressed by the BOD and others that the proposed SOPs, although laudable, do not establish a sufficiently “bright line” of appropriate behavior that should be required of all AAOS fellows. Because both the BOC and the BOS support the adoption of the new SOPs, the Bylaws Committee’s recommendation will be considered by the fellowship after the meeting.

AAOS President Tony Rankin, MD, thanked Dr. Lucas, who is retiring from the committee, for his service.

New officers

Dr. Weinstein, chair of the Nominating Committee, acknowledged the multiple qualifications of all whose names were considered, and thanked the members of the committee for their hard work. Officers who will serve in new capacities are:

Frederick M. Azar, MD, Treasurer

John J. Callaghan, MD, First Vice President

Joseph P. Zuckerman, MD, President

He then presented the recommended slate, which was adopted:

Michael A. Parks, MD, At-Large Member, Under age 45

Paul Tornetta III, MD, At-Large Member, No age designation

Daniel J. Berry, MD, Second Vice President

Dr. Weinstein also announced the name of the individual to serve on the National Membership Committee—Lisa K. Cannada, MD—and the nominees for the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery—J. Lawrence Marsh, MD; Sohail K. Mirza, MD, MPH; Elizabeth A. Szalay, MD; and David C. Teague, MD.

Before adjourning the meeting, Dr. Rankin thanked the retiring members of the Board of Directors: James H. Beaty, MD; William L. Healy, MD; Kevin J. Bozic, MD; John T. Gill, MD; and James P. Tasto, MD. He also recognized David A. Halsey, MD, who has concluded his term as chair of the Council on Advocacy. He called these individuals as well as the newly elected members of the Board of Directors—including David W. Polly Jr., MD, (BOS secretary) and David Teuscher, MD (BOC secretary)—to the stage to the applause of the fellowship.