Kappa Delta, OREF award winners honored today

The winners of the 2008 Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award will be recognized today during the AAOS Annual Meeting opening ceremony.

The 2008 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award will be presented to Chuanju Liu, PhD, for his research on “ADAMTS-7 and ADAMTS-12: Two novel cartilage-degrading metalloproteinases.” His co-authors were Yi Luan, MD; Yan Zhang, MD, PhD; Li Kong, MD, and Ronald Damian Howell, BS.

Recipients of the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughan Award are Karen M. Lyons, PhD, and Vicki Rosen, PhD, for their research, “In vivo studies of BMP pathway activities in chondrogenesis.”

Winners of the Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award are Michele C. Battié, PhD; Tapio Videman, MD, PhD; Jaakko Kaprio, MD, PhD; Laura E. Gibbons, PhD; Kevin Gill, MD; Janna Saarela, MD, PhD, and Leena Peltonen, MD, PhD, for their paper on “The foundation of a new paradigm of disk degeneration: The Twin Spine Study.”

Chuanju Liu, PhD

Michele C. Battié, PhD

Karen M. Lyons, PhD

Hans-Christoph Pape, MD

The work of Hans-Christoph Pape, MD, on the “Effects of changing strategies of fracture fixation on immunologic changes and systemic complications after multiple trauma: Damage-control orthopaedic surgery” will be honored with the 2008 OREF Clinical Research Award.

About the awards
The Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics was established by the Kappa Delta Sorority as part of their Golden Anniversary commemoration in 1947. Since then, the award has grown from one recipient paper and a $1,000 stipend to three recipient papers, each receiving an award of $20,000. Since 1950, Kappa Delta has given nearly $1.1 million in support of orthopaedic research through these awards.

The OREF is the only independent surgeon-driven organization supporting research in the musculoskeletal area. The Board of Trustees presented the first Clinical Research Award and accompanying $20,000 stipend in 1994. The award is given to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics.