AAOS, OREF honor volunteers

During the Ceremonial Meeting yesterday, the AAOS recognized the outstanding efforts of orthopaedic surgeons to advance diversity in the profession and to deliver humanitarian care to underserved populations. The 2008 Diversity Award, which recognizes Academy fellows who have distinguished themselves through their outstanding commitment to making orthopaedics more representative of and accessible to the diverse population it serves, was presented to Claudia L. Thomas, MD (see story). The 2008 Humanitarian Award, which recognizes AAOS fellows who have distinguished themselves through outstanding humanitarian activity in musculoskeletal care in the United States or abroad, was presented to Kaye E. Wilkins, MD (see story).

Claudia L. Thomas, MD, (right) and James. H. Beaty, MD (left)

In addition, the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) named the third recipient of the OREF William W. Tipton Jr., MD Leadership Award—Michael F. Schaffer, MD.