Congratulations to our 2017 Senior Achievement Award and Achievement Award Winners!

Active volunteer involvement is at the heart of AAOS activities. Our meetings, courses, educational materials, clinical practice guidelines, and advocacy efforts are just a few of the many activities that depend on participation by volunteers for their success. Volunteers are vital—not only to the AAOS, but also to orthopaedic specialty societies; national, state, and local orthopaedic societies; and the broader medical community.

The AAOS Board of Directors established the Achievement Award Program in 2005 to encourage and enhance individual growth of Academy members and to thank them for their many contributions to education, research, and advocacy in orthopaedics. This program recognizes participation by AAOS members in Academy programs and elsewhere in orthopaedics.

This program was designed to recognize those who are freely giving back and to create an incentive for others to do the same.

2017 senior achievement award winners
This level requires 30 credits, encompassing at least 10 years of volunteer service to the profession of orthopaedic surgery.

 Jeffrey Anglen, MD, FACS

Christopher M. Bono, MD

Craig J. Della Valle, MD

Steven L. Frick, MD

George John Haidukewych, MD

James J. Hamilton, MD

Alan S. Hilibrand, MD

William J. Hozack, MD

Joshua J. Jacobs, MD

Jesse B. Jupiter, MD

Mininder S. Kocher, MD, MPH

Jason L. Koh, MD

Joseph M. Lane, MD

Jay R. Lieberman, MD

Adolph V. Lombardi Jr, MD

William J. Maloney, MD

William Michael Mihalko, MD, PhD

Anand M. Murthi, MD

Ken J. Noonan, MD

Theodore W. Parsons III, MD, FACS

Vincent D. Pellegrini Jr, MD

Benjamin Kyle Potter, MD

David C. Ring, MD

Marc Safran, MD

Felix H. Savoie III, MD

John William Sperling, MD, MBA

Kurt P. Spindler, MD

Alexander R. Vaccaro, MD, PhD

Jeffrey C. Wang, MD

2017 achievement award winners
Michael C. Albert, MD

COL Romney C. Andersen, MD

George S. Athwal, MD

Sigurd H. Berven, MD

Stefano Alec Bini, MD

Michael E. Brage, MD

Richard Jackson Bransford, MD

Henry M. Broekhuyse, MD

Jacob M. Buchowski, MD, MS

Charles A. Bush-Joseph, MD

Paul M. Caskey, MD

Mickey S. Cho, MD

Michael Patrick Clare, MD

William G. DeLong Jr MD

Matthew R. DiCaprio, MD

Jonathan F. Dickens, MD

William F. Donaldson III, MD

Thomas Charles Dowd, MD

Jason L. Dragoo, MD

James C. Dreese, MD

Craig P. Eberson, MD

Mark A. Erickson, MD

Thomas J. Errico, MD

Daniel C. Farber, MD

Jack Farr II, MD

Richard D. Ferkel, MD

Shawn R. Gilbert, MD

Nicholas John Giori, MD

Michele T. Glasgow, MD

John J. Grayhack, MD

Stuart A. Green, MD

Ranjan Gupta, MD

Christopher August Iobst, MD

Michelle A. James, MD

Lynne C. Jones, PhD

Kerwyn Jones, MD

Paul J. Juliano, MD

Philip James Kregor, MD

Gerald J. Lang, MD

Christopher M. Larson, MD

Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD

Christopher T. LeBrun, MD

Charles F. Leinberry, MD

Courtland G. Lewis, MD

Frank A. Liporace, MD

David W. Lowenberg, MD

Joel Mayerson, MD

Augustus D. Mazzocca, MD, MS

Richard W. McCalden, MD

Charles T. Mehlman, DO, MPH

Sergio Andres Mendoza-Lattes, MD

Bryan Scott Moon, MD

Brian Mullis, MD

George F. Muschler, MD

Selene G. Parekh, MBA, MD

Terrence Philbin, DO

Kristan Pierz, MD

John Marvin Purvis, MD

Afshin Razi, MD

William J. Richardson, MD

Jessica C. Rivera, MD

Milton L. Routt Jr, MD

Jeffrey R. Sawyer, MD

Emil H. Schemitsch, MD

David M. Scher, MD

Matthew R. Schmitz, MD, FAAP

Paul Sethi, MD

Neil P. Sheth, MD

Herrick Siegel, MD

Rafael Jose Sierra, MD

Joseph Douglas Smucker, MD

Barry J. Snyder, MD

James P. Stannard, MD

Michael Tanzer, MD

Creighton Collins Tubb, MD

Norman S. Turner III, MD

Ann E. Van Heest, MD

Kelly L. Vanderhave, MD

Nikhil N. Verma, MD

Michael Vives, MD

Keith L. Wapner, MD

William C. Warner Jr, MD

Geoffrey H. Westrich, MD

Rick Wilkerson, DO

Burt Yaszay, MD

Ira Zaltz, MD

For more information on the Achievement Awards Program and to view a complete list of Achievement Award winners, visit