Award Presentations at the Annual Meeting

The winners of the 2016 Kappa Delta Awards and the 2016 Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award will be recognized during the Ceremonial Meeting on Thursday, March 3, beginning at 10:00 a.m. in the Chapin Theater.

Established by the Kappa Delta Sorority in 1949 and generally recognized as the first award ever created to honor achievements in the field of orthopaedic research, the first Kappa Delta Award was presented at the AAOS Annual Meeting held in 1950. Since then, the Kappa Delta Sorority and the Kappa Delta Foundation have raised and given more than $1 million to support orthopaedic research.

Three Kappa Delta Awards will be presented. The Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn and Elizabeth Winston Lanier Awards recognize individuals who have performed research in orthopaedic surgery that is of high significance and impact and have built a body of cohesive scientific work generally reflecting years of investigation. The Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award is presented to an individual younger than age 40 (or no more than 7 years beyond training) for basic and/or clinical research that relates to the musculoskeletal system.

The OREF Clinical Research Award was first presented in 1995 to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics. The award recognizes clinical research related directly to musculoskeletal disease or injury. Eligible applicants must be members of the AAOS, the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), the Canadian Orthopaedic Association, or the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society.

The award-winning papers will be presented during the ORS annual meeting.

2016 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award
Louis DeFrate, ScD,
from Duke University Medical Center for his work on “The effects of ACL Graft Placement on In Vivo Knee Function and Cartilage Thickness Distributions.”

2016 Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award
Francis Young-In Lee, MD, PhD,
from Columbia University for his work on “Targeting Innate Immune Inflammatory Pathways in Osteolytic Disorders: Unmasking the Two Faces of Osteoprogenitor Cells.”

2016 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award
Edward M. Wojtys, MD,
and coauthor James A. Ashton-Miller, PhD, from the University of Michigan for their work on “On Knee Function and ACL Injury.”

2016 OREF Clinical Research Award
Timothy Hewett, PhD,
and coauthors Gregory D. Myer, PhD; Kevin R. Ford, PhD; Mark Paterno, PhD; and Carmen Quatman, MD, PhD, from The Ohio State University for their work on “Mechanisms and Prevention of ACL Injuries: Cutting ACL Injury Risk with Finely Sharpened Tools.”

Other awards
The AAOS Humanitarian, Diversity, and William W. Tipton Jr, MD, Leadership Awards will also be presented during Thursday’s Ceremonial Meeting.

The best Scientific Poster in each anatomic category and the best all-around Scientific Poster will be recognized during the Poster Award Ceremony and Breakfast, on Friday, March 4, beginning at 7:00 a.m. in Academy Hall C. The poster award winners will be announced in the Friday Daily Edition, AAOS Now.