Three Scientific Exhibits Win Award of Excellence

The 2012 Annual Meeting features more than 88 Scientific Exhibits that graphically illustrate a study or complex procedure. The Exhibits can be viewed in Academy Hall, Level 1 of Moscone West from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. today and from 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on Saturday. In addition, an author from each Exhibit will be available on Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. to provide information and answer questions regarding the Exhibit.

Although all the Scientific Exhibits present valuable information, three are stand-outs, according to the Exhibits Committee.

Committee members William H. Seitz Jr, MD, chair; George Walter Balfour, MD; Dennis B. Brooks, MD; Benjamin Goldberg, MD; Steven M. Kurtz, MD; Donald H. Lee, MD; Pekka A. Mooar, MD; Joseph T. Moskal, MD; James V. Nepola, MD; Rick F. Papandrea, MD; and John R. Tenny, MD, viewed each exhibit on Wednesday, evaluating them based on the following criteria:

  • medical or scientific contribution
  • clarity of content
  • educational value
  • use of graphics
  • legibility and design
  • overall design

The following three Scientific Exhibits were chosen by the committee to receive the Award of Excellence:

  • SE12: Pathologic, Serologic, and Tribologic Findings in Failed Metal on Metal Total Hip Arthroplasty, presented by Christopher Pelt, MD, with coauthors Jill Erickson, PA; Ian C. Clarke, PhD; Thomas K. Donaldson, MD; Edward J. McPherson, MD; and Christopher L. Peters, MD
  • SE16: Improving the Accuracy of Acetabular Component Orientation: Avoiding Malposition, presented by Joseph T. Moskal, MD, with coauthor Susan G. Capps, PhD
  • SE76: Managing Bone Loss in Anterior Instability, presented by Mark Schrumpf, MD, with coauthors Joshua Dines, MD; Asheesh Bedi, MD; Travis G. Maak, MD; Demetris Delos, MD; Kristofer Jones, MD; Gilles Walch, MD; and David M. Dines, MD