OREF welcomes new board members

During its Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2011, meeting, the Board of Trustees of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) approved nominations for 2011–2012 board members and officers.

Joining the Board in 2011 are R. Tracy Ballock, MD; Richard F. Santore, MD; James Borovsky; and Richard Tarr.

Regis J. O’Keefe, MD, PhD; Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD; Joshua J. Jacobs, MD; and Charles Federico will be leaving the board. The trustees appreciate their years of service.

S. Terry Canale, MD, will serve his second year as president. Ramon L. Jimenez, MD, is the new president-elect and will continue to serve as vice chair, development. Richard J. Haynes, MD, will take over for Dr. Jimenez as secretary.

OREF officers for 2011–2012 are S. Terry Canale, MD, president; Ramon L. Jimenez, MD, president-elect and vice chair, development; William P. Cooney III, MD, past board chair; H. Michael Immel, FACMPE, treasurer; Richard J. Haynes, MD, secretary; James D. Heckman, MD, vice chair, research grants; Frank B. Kelly Jr., MD, vice chair, educational grants; and Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, vice chair, corporate relations.

Prepared by Gene Wurth, OREF CEO, who can be reached at