Board meeting report: 2010 - a very good year

At its day-long meeting on Monday, February 14, the AAOS Board of Directors heard reports ranging from the successful online launch of AAOS OrthoPortal to the creation of a new member-funded AAOS Educational Enhancement Fund. The consensus: 2010 was a very good year.

Local chair James P. Tasto, MD, informed the board that the city of San Diego is ready, willing, and able to stage the 2011 AAOS Annual Meeting, and the board buckled down to a lengthy agenda. Interwoven with the business items on the board’s agenda were reports from allied entities, including the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, the American Joint Replacement Registry, the National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses, and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF).

For 10 years sanofi-aventis has partnered with AAOS in the Family Fitness and Fun Park program as a Diamond sponsor, contributing more than $1.2 million. Monday, AAOS President John J. Callaghan, MD, presented sanofi-aventis Senior Director James Caro with a plaque to mark the occasion.

Along the way, Stuart M. Weinstein, MD, reported that the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons Orthopaedic PAC retained its top ranking among all medical associations with respect to funds raised. Orthopaedic Knowledge Online (OKO) Editor-in-Chief William C. Grana, MD, peaked the board’s interest with his description of functions of the new AAOS OrthoPortal (

Council on Education chair Edward Akelman, MD, received kudos as he reported that the new, member-funded AAOS Educational Enhancement Fund had received more than $100,000 in contributions since program’s December 2010 roll-out. The fund, a partnership with OREF, is designed to enhance surgeon education and patient care. Donations to the fund will help the Academy stay on the cutting edge of orthopaedic education by supporting the expansion of online continuing medical education offerings and Maintenance of Certification (MOC) resources, including the development of performance improvement modules, and the introduction of new technologies at the Annual Meeting.

AAOS treasurer Frederick M. Azar, MD, shared that the Academy finished 2010 with positive operating results for the eighth consecutive year.

Dr. Callaghan presents outgoing lay board member G. Zachary Wilhoit, MS, MBA, with a certificate of appreciation.

Daniel J. Berry, MD
, first vice-president and chair of the Committee Appointment Program (CAP) Committee, presented a report of the January 18, 2011, CAP Committee meeting to the board. At that meeting, the CAP Committee approved various appointments and reappointments to several committees and subcommittees and revised the charges of some units, including those of the Council on Research, Quality Assessment and Technology (CORQAT) to reflect a change in the Council’s name and to align the charges with the current strategic goals of the Council. With the board’s vote to accept the CAP Committee report, the CORQAT’s name became simply the Council on Research and Quality.

In his capacity as chair of the Council on Advocacy, Peter Mandell, MD, relayed his Council’s the recommendation that AAOS board adopt the position that AAOS will oppose those federal appropriation bills that contain funding for the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) only on a targeted and limited basis. The vote by the board to adopt that position was unanimous.

Funding allocations
Several actions involving funding were taken by the board. A request made by Thomas Barber, MD, on behalf of the Electronic Medical Record Project Team for funds to underwrite the cost of meetings of the project team and development of additional educational materials for members, such as the Meaningful Use Action Plan Toolkit that was prepared in 2010, was approved. Also authorized was a request for funding made by Board of Councilors (BOC) chair-elect David Teuscher, MD, that would allow the 2011 Fall Meeting (currently planned to be shortened by one day) to be restored to the Thursday afternoon through Sunday morning format of the past. In addition, a business plan presented by Dr. Berry to finance the costs of pursuing a new building to house the offices of AAOS and possibly other orthopaedic organizations was approved.

The board also voted to approve an action item brought by Communications Cabinet chair Michael F. Schafer, MD. Each year, the Academy’s MORE (Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence) Awards honor media efforts that further public understanding of musculoskeletal health-related issues. This year, the board approved 16 MORE Award entries as winners. The award recipients will be announced on April 7 in Washington, D.C., at the AAOS National Orthopaedic Leadership Conference.

New Honorary Member
At the conclusion of the meeting, AAOS President John J. Callaghan, MD, recognized those board members whose terms end with this Annual Meeting: Richard J. Barry, MD; M. Bradford Henley, MD; Michael L. Parks, MD; Paul Tornetta III, MD; and the board’s only lay member, G. Zachary Wilhoit, MS, MBA. After thanking Mr. Wilhoit for his service, Dr. Callaghan announced that Mr. Wilhoit will receive honorary membership in AAOS. In response, Mr. Wilhoit expressed his appreciation for the opportunity to serve with the other members of the board, observing that “for the past 4 years, there has never been a second that the patient hasn’t come first.”

Past president Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD, was also recognized for his years on the board. Dr. Berry, on behalf of the Board, finally expressed AAOS’ appreciation to Dr. Callaghan for his exemplary year of service as president.

Prepared by G. Jake Jaquet, executive editor, AAOS Now.