Congratulations to our 2011 Achievement Award Winners!

Active volunteer involvement is at the heart of AAOS activities. Our meetings, courses, educational materials, clinical practice guidelines, and advocacy efforts are just a few of the many activities that depend on participation by volunteers for their success. Volunteers are vital—not only to the AAOS, but also to orthopaedic specialty societies; national, state, and local orthopaedic societies; and the broader medical community.

The AAOS Board of Directors established the Achievement Award Program to encourage and enhance individual growth of Academy members and to thank them for their many contributions to education, research, and advocacy in orthopaedics. This program recognizes participation by AAOS members in Academy programs and elsewhere in orthopaedics.

The AAOS Achievement Award Program is designed to recognize those who are freely giving back and to create an incentive for others to do the same. The following members qualified this year.

  • Randipsingh R. Bindra, MD
  • Eric M. Bluman, MD, PhD
  • Stephen S. Burkhart, MD
  • J. W. Thomas Byrd, MD
  • Jens R. Chapman, MD
  • James K. Deorio, MD
  • Michael Q. Freehill, MD
  • Frank A.B. Gottschalk, MD
  • Sherwin S. W. Ho, MD
  • Paul A. Lotke, MD
  • Eric C. McCarty, MD
  • Edward G. McFarland, MD
  • William C. McMaster, MD
  • William M. Mihalko, MD, PhD
  • Hassan R. Mir, MD
  • Raffy Mirzayan, MD
  • Allan K. Mishra, MD
  • Daryl C. Osbahr, MD
  • Theodore W. Parsons, MD, FACS
  • Scott B. Scutchfield, MD
  • Suken A. Shah, MD
  • Kevin G. Shea, MD
  • David L. Skaggs, MD
  • Brian G. Smith, MD
  • David C. Teague, MD
  • Russell F. Warren, MD
  • Rick W. Wright, MD
  • Adolph J. Yates Jr., MD

For more information on the Achievement Awards Program, visit