Kappa Delta, OREF award winners honored

The winners of the 2010 Kappa Delta and Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Awards were honored today. The Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award was presented to Brian K. Kwon, MD, PhD, FRCSC, for “Cerebrospinal Fluid Pressure Monitoring and Biochemical Analysis in Acute Spinal Cord Injury: A Translational Approach.”

The Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award was presented to Cornelia E. Farnum, DVM, PhD, and Norman J. Wilsman, DVM, PhD, for “Analyzing the Growth Plate in Four Dimensions: A Thirty-year Perspective on Growth Plate Dynamics.”

The Ann Doner Vaughan Award was presented to Louis J. Soslowsky, PhD, for “Understanding the Etiology, Pathogenesis, and Repair Response of Rotator Cuff Injuries: A Series of Interconnected Studies Developing and Using an Animal Model.”

The 2010 OREF Clinical Research Award was presented to Mohit Bhandari, MD; Gordon Guyatt, MD; Stephen Walter, PhD; Emil H. Schemitsch, MD; David Sanders, MD; Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD; and Paul Tornetta III, MD, for “Setting a New Benchmark for Collaborative Trials in Trauma: The Rationale, Design, and Execution of the Study to Prospectively Evaluate Intramedullary Nails in Tibial Shaft Fractures (SPRINT).”

The Kappa Delta Sorority established the annual Kappa Delta Research Fellowship in Orthopaedics in 1947. Today, three awards are presented, including one specifically designated for a young investigator. Kappa Delta has given more than $1 million in support of orthopaedic research. The OREF award was first presented in 1994 and is given to encourage clinical research in orthopaedics. Each award includes a $20,000 stipend.

For more information on these awards, see the February 2010 issue of AAOS Now, available online at