Congratulations to our first class of Achievement Award Winners!

Active volunteer involvement is at the heart of AAOS activities. Our meetings, courses, educational materials, clinical practice guidelines, and advocacy efforts are just a few of the many activities that depend on participation by volunteers for their success. Volunteers are vital—not only to the AAOS, but also to orthopaedic specialty societies; national, state, and local orthopaedic societies; and the broader medical community.

The AAOS Board of Directors established the Achievement Award Program to encourage and enhance individual growth of Academy members, and to thank them for their many contributions to education, research, and advocacy in orthopaedics. This new program recognizes participation by AAOS members in Academy programs and elsewhere in orthopaedics.

This program was designed to recognize those who are freely giving back and to create an incentive for others to do the same. For more information on the Achievement Awards Program, visit

Nicholas A. Abidi, MD
Albert J. Aboulafia, MD
Jeffrey S. Abrams, MD
Animesh Agarwal, MD
Christopher S. Ahmad, MD
Edward Akelman, MD
Dirk H. Alander, MD
Todd J. Albert, MD
A. Herbert Alexander, MD
Annunciato Amendola, MD
Howard S. An, MD
D. Greg Anderson, MD
Robert B. Anderson, MD
James R.Andrews, MD
Jeffrey Anglen, MD
Michael T. Archdeacon, MD
Robert A. Arciero, MD
Frederick M. Azar, MD
Bernard R. Bach, Jr., MD
Robert L. Barrack, MD
Judith F. Baumhauer, MD
William R. Beach, MD
James H. Beaty, MD
Joseph Benevenia, MD
Michael E. Berend, MD
Richard A. Berger, MD
Daniel J. Berry, MD
Janet Sybil Biermann, MD
Louis U. Bigliani, MD
J. David Blaha, MD
Laurel C. Blakemore, MD
Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD
Scott D. Boden, MD
Christopher M. Bono, MD
Peter M. Bonutti, MD
Robert E. Booth, Jr., MD
Christopher T. Born, MD
Michael J. Bosse, MD
Mathias P.G. Bostrom, MD
Robert B. Bourne, MD
David J. Bozentka, MD
Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA
Gregory A. Brown, MD, PhD
William Bugbee, MD
Miguel E. Cabanela, MD
John J. Callaghan, MD
Barbara Jean Campbell, MD
S. Terry Canale, MD
Lisa K. Cannada, MD
James D. Capozzi, MD
Henry D. Clarke, MD
Brian J. Cole, MD
Clifford W. Colwell, MD
William P. Cooney, III, MD
William R. Creevy, MD, MBA
James A. D’Antonio, MD
Timothy A. Damron, MD
Jon R. Davids, MD
Ronald E. Delanois, MD
Craig J. Della Valle, MD
Edward Diao, MD
David M. Dines, MD
Matthew B. Dobbs, MD
Clive P. Duncan, MD
Paul J. Durwelius, MD
Mark E. Easley, MD
Thomas A. Einhorn, MD
Howard R. Epps, MD
Richard P. Evans, MD
Christopher H. Evans, PhD
Frances A. Farley, MD
Larry D. Field, MD
Maureen A. Finnegan, MD
Jeffrey S. Fischgrund, MD
Donald C. Fithian, MD
Evan L. Flatow, MD
Adolph S. Flemister, Jr., MD
John C. France, MD
Frank J. Frassica, MD
Steven L. Frick, MD
Gary E. Friedlaender, MD
Richard J. Friedman, MD
Freddie H. Fu, MD
Leesa M. Galatz, MD
Theodore J. Ganley, MD
Richard A. Geline, MD
Alexander J. Ghanayem, MD
Victor Goldberg, MD
Murray J. Goodman, MD
William A. Grana, MD, MPH
Andrew Green, MD
Walter B. Greene, MD
A. Seth Greenwald, DPhil Oxon
Letha Y. Griffin, MD
Gregory P. Guyton, MD
Steven L. Haddad, MD
George J. Haidukewych, MD
David A. Halsey, MD
Christopher D. Harner, MD
Mitchel B. Harris, MD
Richard J. Hawkins, MD
M. Bradford Henley, MD, MBA
Martin J. Herman, MD
James H. Herndon, MD
Alan S. Hilibrand, MD
James A. Hill, MD
Stuart Hirsch, MD
William J. Hozack, MD
Serena S. Hu, MD
Joseph P. Iannotti, MD, PhD
Joshua J. Jacobs, MD
Matthew L. Jimenez, MD
Ramon L. Jimenez, MD
William A. Jiranek, MD
Michael J. Joyce, MD
Jesse B. Jupiter, MD
James Kang, MD
Lori A. Karol, MD
John D. Kaufman, MD
Francis B. Kelly, MD
W. Benjamin Kibler, MD
Mininder S. Kocher, MD
Jason L. Koh, MD
Kenneth J. Koval, MD
Scott H. Kozin, MD
Kenneth A. Krackow, MD
Paul F. Lachiewicz, MD
Joseph M. Lane, MD
Arabella I. Leet, MD
Ross K. Leighton, MD
L. Scott Levin, MD
William N. Levine, MD
David G. Lewallen, MD
Valerae O. Lewis, MD
Jay R. Lieberman, MD
Ronald W. Lindsey, MD
Adolph V. Lombardi, Jr., MD
Jess H. Lonner, MD
Jay D. Mabrey, MD
Stephen P. Makk, MD, MBA
Arthur L. Malkani, MD
William J. Maloney, MD
Bert Mandelbaum, MD
Henry Mankin, MD
Guido Marra, MD
J. Lawrence Marsh, MD
Robert G. Marx, MD
Matthew J. Matava, MD
James J. McCarthy, MD
Joseph C. McCarthy, MD
J. Mark Melhorn, MD
Gregory A. Mencio, MD
Peter J. Millett, MD, MSc
Berton R. Moed, MD
Steven J. Morgan, MD
Carol D. Morris, MD
Colin F. Moseley, MD
Peter M. Murray, MD
Anand M. Murthi, MD
Ronald A. Navarro, MD
Charles L. Nelson, MD
Peter O. Newton, MD
Gregory P. Nicholson, MD
Robert P. Nirschl, MD
Kenneth J. Noonan, MD
Sean E. Nork, MD
Mary I. O’Connor, MD
Regis J. O’Keefe, MD
Robert F. Ostrum, MD
Mark W. Pagnano, MD
Javad Parvizi, MD
Terrance D. Peabody, MD
Michael L. Pearl, MD
Robert A. Pedowitz, MD
Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr., MD
Christopher L. Peters, MD
Andrew N. Pollak, MD
Jay F. Pomerance, MD
Charles T. Price, MD
Robert A. Probe, MD
Laura J. Prokuski, MD
Robert H. Quinn, MD
Matthew Lee Ramsey, MD
R. Lor Randall, MD
Raj D. Rao, MD
Mark C. Reilly, MD
Michael D. Ries, MD
K. Daniel Riew, MD
David C. Ring, MD
William J. Robb, III, MD
Craig S. Roberts, MD
Scott A. Rodeo, MD
Bruce Rougraff, MD
Alan S. Routman, MD
Harry E. Rubash, MD
Marc Safran, MD
Henry C. Sagi, MD
Khaled Saleh, MD, MSc, FRCSC, FACS
John F. Sarwark, MD
Felix H. Savoie, III, MD
Michael F. Schafer, MD
Susan A. Scherl, MD
Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD
Andrew H. Schmidt, MD
Giles R. Scuderi, MD
Thomas P. Sculco, MD
Peter F. Sharkey, MD
Daniel J. Solomon, MD
John W. Sperling, MD, MBA
Kurt P. Spindler, MD
Robert J. Spinner, MD
Scott P. Steinmann, MD
James B. Stiehl, MD
Richard E. Strain, Jr., MD
Daniel J. Sucato, MD
Mark F. Swiontkowski, MD
David C. Templeman, MD
Kimberly J. Templeton, MD
David Teuscher, MD
Vernon T. Tolo, MD
John R. Tongue, MD
Pietro M. Tonino, MD
Edward A. Toriello, MD
Paul Tornetta, III, MD
Laura Lowe Tosi, MD
Robert T. Trousdale, MD
Thomas E. Trumble, MD
Eeric Truumees, MD
Alexander Vaccaro, MD
Thomas Parker Vail, MD
Walter W. Virkus, MD
Jeffrey C. Wang, MD
Jon J.P. Warner, MD
Kristy L. Weber, MD
Stephen C. Weber, MD
Steven B. Weinfeld, MD
Stuart L. Weinstein, MD
Gerald R. Williams, Jr., MD
J. Michael Wiater, MD
Michael A. Wirth, MD
Philip R. Wolinsky, MD
Andrew M. Wong, MD
David A. Wong, MD, MSc
Steven T. Woolson, MD
Timothy M. Wright, PhD
Ken Yamaguchi, MD
Michael J. Yaszemski, MD, PhD
Jim A. Youssef, MD
Michele M. Zembo, MD, MBA
Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD