Annual Business Meetings set for Thursday

Plan to attend the Annual Business Meetings tomorrow beginning at 9:00 a.m. in the La Nouvelle Ballroom. The business meeting for the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (Academy), the 501(c)(3) organization, will be immediately followed by the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons (Association), the 501(c)(6) organization.

Resolutions, Bylaws, and SOPs
Three Academy resolutions undergoing the 5-year review process will be discussed during the meeting: Orthopaedic Learning Center (OLC); Process of Academy Adoption of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Guidelines; and Additional Subspecialty Certificates in Orthopaedic Surgery.

Two Association resolutions undergoing the 5-year review process (Policy on Medical Care in the United States and Healthcare Reform and Supply of Orthopaedic Surgeons), plus one new resolution will also be discussed. The newly proposed resolution is Streamline and Simplify the Current E/M Codes and Guidelines for Documentation as Part of Any Healthcare Reform.

The 2010 Resolutions Committee, chaired by Robert E. Eilert, MD, will present its recommendations for each resolution under consideration.

The Bylaws Committee, chaired by George T. Shybut, MD, will present its recommendations regarding the three proposed bylaws amendments and the proposed revisions to the Standard of Profession­alism (SOP) on Expert Witness Testimony. The Fellowship will vote on the recommendations shortly after the 2010 Annual Meeting.

For more information on the resolutions and bylaws being considered, see the Notice of the Business meeting mailed to each fellow, or refer to the articles on pages 21 and 25 of this Daily Edition of AAOS Now.

During the Association meeting, the Fellowship will vote on the nominees presented by the 2010 Nominating Committee: John R. Tongue, MD (second vice-president); Kevin P. Black, MD (Board of Directors, at-large member, age 45 or older); Daniel W. White, MD (Board of Directors, at-large member, younger than age 45); and Dane K. Wukich, MD (member of the National Membership Committee).

The four nominees to the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) are Leesa M. Galatz, MD; Sohail K. Mirza, MD, MPH; James R. Roberson, MD; and David C. Teague, MD.

In addition, an unlimited number of nominations will be accepted for the 2011 AAOS Nominating Committee. Only Active Fellows may serve on the Nominating Committee, and no person may be elected to serve more than three times.