OREF welcomes new board members

By: Gene R. Wurth

By Gene R. Wurth

During its meeting yesterday, the board of trustees of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) approved nominations for the new 2010-2011 board members and officers.

Joining the Board in 2010 are Judith F. Baumhauer, MD; James H. Beaty, MD; Kevin J. Bozic, MD; and E. Anthony Rankin, MD.

Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD; Thomas A. Einhorn, MD; Joseph C. McCarthy, MD; and Charles A. Rockwood Jr., MD, will be leaving the board following the completion of their terms.

S. Terry Canale, MD, assumes the position of board chair, and Regis J. O’Keefe, MD, PhD, is the new chair-elect. Ramon L. Jimenez, MD, will serve as secretary while continuing in his position as vice chair, development. Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, will serve as vice chair, corporate relations.

Other officers are Mr. H. Michael Immel, FACMPE, treasurer; James D. Heckman, MD, vice chair, research grants; and Frank B. Kelly Jr., MD, vice chair, educational grants.

Gene Wurth is the chief executive officer and president of OREF; he can be reached at