MTF announces 2010 research grant recipients

Since 1987, the Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation (MTF) has been at the forefront of tissue research, awarding nearly $24 million through 2009. In 2010, MTF anticipates awarding nearly $2.4 million in grants and awards. The 2010 grant recipients approved for funding include the following AAOS members:

In the Peer Review–Established Investigator category: D.R. Sumner, Jr., PhD, Stem Cell Mobilization to Enhance Bone Regeneration.

In the Peer Review–Junior Investigator category: Alexander Shin, MD, Neovascularization, Axonal Regeneration and Return of Motor Function Following Processed Allogeneic Nerve Grafting: A Study of the Effect of Nerve Blood Flow and Neoangiogenesis on Functional Recovery After Allograft Reconstruction of Segmental Sciatic Nerve Defects.

Winner of the J.R. Neff Award, given in honor of James R. Neff, MD., a long-time MTF board member: Jay R. Lieberman, MD, Progenitor Cell Response to Bone Graft Substitutes in Bone Repair.

OREF Award winner: Quanjun Cui, MD, Stem Cell-Based Angiogenic and Osteogenic Gene Therapy to Enhance Bone Defect Repair.

Herndon Residency Award winners: Thomas Keller, MD, A Novel Scaffold for Growth Factor Delivery – An Alternative Graft for Tendon Repair; Mara Schenker, MD, In Vivo and In Vitro Integration of Engineered Nanofibrous Scaffolds in Meniscal Defects.

For more information on how to apply for a MTF research grant, call Hans Burchardt, PhD, vice-president, Scientific Affairs, at (570) 496-3434, e-mail, or visit