Business meetings end with election of new officers

The Annual Business Meetings of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons held yesterday began with the treasurer’s report and ended with the election of new officers and Board members.

Academy Business Meeting Report
AAOS Treasurer William L. Healy, MD, provided a report on AAOS finances, which was followed by the report of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF), presented by John J. Callaghan, MD, chair, OREF Board of Trustees.

Richard B. Welch, MD, chair of the Resolutions Committee, presented the committee’s recommendations on the two Academy resolutions under consideration.

Association Business Meeting Report
During the Association meeting immediately following the Academy meeting, nominations for the 2009 Nominating Committee were accepted from the floor. Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, chair of the Political Action Committee (PAC) of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons, reported on the funds raised and participation in the PAC.

Stuart L. Weinstein, MD

Dr. Welch reported on the Resolutions Committee’s recommendations on the seven Association resolutions. The Committee does not recommend adoption of the one new, duly submitted resolution, Association Resolution #3, dealing with the AAOS Professional Compliance Program. Because the Board of Councilors (BOC), the Board of Directors (BOD), and the Resolutions Committee each recommended that this resolution be rejected, it will be withdrawn and will not be considered by the fellowship.

Dr. Welch then presented the Resolution Committee’s recommendations on the remaining six Association resolutions being considered as part of the 5-year review. After the presentation and discussion of the resolutions, AAOS President James H. Beaty, MD, acknowledged that this would be Dr. Welch’s final year on the Resolutions Committee and thanked him for his many years of service.

George L. Lucas, MD, chair of the Bylaws Committee, presented the Bylaws Committee’s recommendations on the four Association bylaws, which deal with the AAOS Nominating Committee and proposed revisions to Standards of Professionalism (SOPs) on Providing Musculoskeletal Services to Patients. The Bylaws Committee recommended that Bylaws Amendment Group #1 be divided into two sections—one on the timing of the AAOS election process and the other dealing with the designated, “slotted seat” issue. Each will be voted on after the 2008 Annual Meeting. The Bylaws Committee concurred with the BOD, the BOC, and the Board of Specialty Societies that Bylaws Amendments Groups #2 and #3 not be adopted. The Bylaws Committee also recommended adoption of Bylaws Amendment Group #4, which would expand the qualifications to become an Associate Resident Member. It also recommended adoption of the proposed revisions to the SOPs on Providing Musculoskeletal Services to Patients.

New officers
Robert W. Bucholz, MD
, chair of the Nominating Committee, acknowledged the multiple qualifications of all whose names were under consideration, and thanked the members of the committee for their hard work. He then presented the recommended slate for the AAOS Board of Directors, which was adopted:

E. Anthony Rankin, MD

Joseph P. Zuckerman, MD
First Vice President

John J. Callaghan, MD
Second Vice President

Frederick M. Azar, MD

Leesa M. Galatz, MD
Member-at-large, under age 45

Michael F. Schafer, MD
Member-at-large, no age


Dr. Bucholz also announced the name of the individual to serve on the National Membership Committee—Adam S. Bright, MD.

Before adjourning the meeting, Dr. Beaty thanked the retiring members of the Board of Directors: Richard F. Kyle, MD; Norman Y. Otsuka, MD; Ken Yamaguchi, MD; Matthew S. Shapiro, MD, and Joseph C. McCarthy, MD. He also recognized two additional individuals—James N. Weinstein, DO, MS, who has concluded his term as chair of the Council on Academic Affairs and as Board Liaison, and Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, who has completed his term as chair of the Council on Research, Quality Assessment, and Technology. He called these individuals as well as the newly elected members of the Board of Directors to the stage to the applause of the fellowship.