OREF announces 2008 grants and awards

By: Jean McGuire

By Jean McGuire

The Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Board of Trustees approved $2.8 million in funding for 158 grants and awards at its meeting this week. The following grants and awards will be funded:

  • 1 Clinician-Scientist Award for $300,000
  • 1 Career Development Award for $225,000
  • 10 Research Grants for $100,000 each
  • 2 Prospective Clinical Grants for $150,000 each
  • 1 OREF Clinical Award for $20,000
  • 8 Resident Clinician-Scientist Training Grants for $20,000 each

Jennifer M. Wolf, MD, will receive the 2008 Clinician-Scientist Award, a $100,000 per year salary stipend for up to 3 years. The Dr. Zachary and Mrs. Kathleen Friedenberg Endowment Fund will provide the annual stipend to compensate for the loss of income associated with devoting more time to research. Dr. Wolf’s project is Does Relaxin mediate gender differences in joint laxity and osteoarthritis of the thumb carpo-metacarpal joint?

The 2008 recipient of the Thomas M. Coffman Career Development Award is Mathias P. G. Bostrom, MD, whose project is Enhancing cancellous bone formation via mechanical loading and parathyroid hormone. Stryker will provide support for the award.

Prospective Clinical Research Grants will be awarded to Laurence D. Higgins, MD, for his work on Rotator cuff arthropathy: Role of vitamin D status and to Alec C. Stall, MD, for his research, A double blind randomized controlled trial to determine the effectiveness of perioperative hyperoxygenation in the prevention of surgical site infections of the lower limb.

Hans-Christoph Pape, MD, received this year’s OREF Clinical Award for his project, Effects of changing strategies of fracture fixation on immunologic changes and system complications after multiple trauma: Damage control orthopaedic surgery.

Research Grants were awarded to: Joseph A. Abboud, MD; Wael K. Barsoum, MD; Boris Bershadsky, PhD; Mark A. Frankle, MD; Louis G. Jenis, MD; Joon Yung Lee, MD; Xuhui Liu, MD; Arivalagan Muthusamy, PhD; Steven J Svoboda, MD; and Shang-You Yang, MD. Some Research Grants were made possible through funding from the Dr. Dane and Mrs. Mary Louise Miller Endowment Fund, the Illinois Bone and Joint Institute, the Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, the Hospital for Special Surgery, the Orthopedic Surgeons Network of Arizona, and the Dr. Victor and Mrs. Harriet Goldberg Endowment Fund.

Emily E. Carmody, MD; Corey S. Gill, MD; Macalus Hogan, MD; Igor Immerman, MD; Andres J. Quintero, MD; Vani J. Sabesan, MD; Thorsten M. Seyler, MD; and Kathryne J. Stabile, MD, will receive Resident Clinician-Scientist Training Grants.

DePuy will provide support for 15 OREF/DePuy Resident Educational Grants for the third consecutive year. DePuy will also fund the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society/OREF DePuy Career Development Award in Women’s Musculoskeletal Health, presented to Kelly Ann Lafaivre, MD.

Zimmer will provide funding for the OREF/American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons/Zimmer Resident Clinician Scientist Training Grant in Total Joint Arthroplasty, to be given to Daniel E. Martin, MD. Zimmer will also fund five Zimmer Orthopaedic Career Development Awards.

OREF’s Board of Trustees congratulates the 2008 grant and award recipients. A complete listing of OREF’s awardees is available for viewing during the AAOS Annual Meeting at the Foundation’s exhibit in the Moscone Center Concourse, on the Exhibit Level, near the Gateway Ballroom. The complete list can also be found on OREF’s Web site,

Jean McGuire is chief financial officer and vice president, grants, for OREF.