Fellowship Vote for AAOS Leaders

By: Richard N. Peterson, JD

Voting on the slate of candidates recommended by the 2017 Nominating Committee will occur during the business meeting of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons on Thursday, March 16, 2017, during the 2017 Annual Meeting in San Diego. The AAOS business meetings will begin at 9:30 am. The new leaders will take office at the conclusion of the 2017 Annual Meeting.

The 2017 Nominating Committee has identified and will submit the following candidates for the named positions:

  • Second Vice-President: Kristy L. Weber, MD
  • Member-at-Large (no age designation): Ronald A. Navarro, MD
  • Member-at-Large (under age 45): Jacob M. Buchowski, MD
  • National Membership Committee representative: David J. Mansfield, MD

The business meetings will also consider resolutions and propose amendments to the AAOS bylaws, as well as hear reports from the AAOS treasurer, the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF), and the Political Action Committee of the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons (Orthopaedc PAC).     

Richard N. Peterson, JD, is the AAOS General Counsel.