Business, Ceremonial Meetings Have Much to Offer

The annual business meetings of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons kick off at 9:00 a.m. tomorrow in the Chapin Theater. AAOS President David D. Teuscher, MD, will preside.

During the Academy meeting, Frederick M. Azar, MD, AAOS past president and treasurer, will present the treasurer’s report, and John J. Callaghan, MD, president of the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Board of Trustees will update the fellowship on OREF activities. Michael L. Parks, MD, will give the Resolutions Committee report on the three Academy Resolutions being considered.

During the Association business meeting, fellows will have the opportunity to nominate individuals for the 2017 Nominating Committee. In addition, John T. Gill, MD, will present his report on the Orthopaedic Political Action Committee (PAC), Dr. Parks will report on the four Association Resolutions, and Scott B. Scutchfield, MD, will pre­sent the report and the recommendations of the Bylaws Committee on the two sets of proposed bylaws amendments. In addition, those fellows in attendance will vote on the slate of new Board members and others proposed by the 2016 AAOS Nominating Committee. The AAOS Nominating Committee announced this slate to the fellowship in November 2015. 

All fellows will have the opportunity to vote for the members of the 2017 Nominating Committee, as well as on the resolutions and proposed bylaws amendments, after the Annual Meeting.

During the business meetings, retiring members of the current board of directors will be recognized and the new members will be announced.

Ceremonial Meeting
The business meetings are followed by the Ceremonial Meeting. The Ceremonial Meeting will feature the presentation of the Kappa Delta and OREF awards, as well as the presentation of the William W. Tipton Jr, MD, Leadership Award, the Humanitarian Award, and the Diversity Award. Gerald R. Williams Jr, MD, will give his incoming presidential address, and William J. Maloney, MD, the incoming first vice-president, will also briefly address the fellowship.