Communication Skills Mentoring Program

The AAOS Patient Safety Committee is responsible for the oversight of the Communication Skills Mentoring Program. Members of the program span across the United States, and are identified by the regions where they practice and reside.  

Name City, State Title
Michael Marks, MD, MBA

 Norwalk, CT Chair, Section on Safety Education Patient Safety Committee

The following AAOS members have volunteered as mentors:

Eastern Region Members

City, State

John W Blute Jr, MD

Concord, MA

James C Farmer, MD

New York, NY

Gary E Friedlaender, MD

New Haven, CT

Mark C Gebhardt, MD

Boston, MA

John D Kelly IV, MD

Philadelphia, PA

Paul Levin, MD

Bronx, NY

John D Lubahn, MD

Erie, PA

Michael Marks, MD, MBA

Norwalk, CT

Mary I O'Connor, MD

New Haven, CT 

Donna P Phillips, MD

New York, NY

Gregory Sirounian, MD

Garden City, NY 

Edward C Tanner, MD

Rochester, NY

Midwestern Region Members

City, State

Frances A Farley, MD

Ann Arbor, MI

Richard Allen Geline, MD 

Glenview, IL 

James A Hill, MD 

Chicago, IL 

Monica Kogan, MD 

Wilmette, IL

Patricia A Kolowich, MD

Detroit, MI

John F Sarwark, MD

Chicago, IL

Richard D Schmidt, MD

Edina, MN

Kimberly J Templeton, MD

Kansas City, KS

Southern Region Members

City, State

S Terry Canale, MD

Germantown, TN

John L Eady, MD

Columbia, SC

Howard R Epps, MD

Houston, TX

Maureen A Finnegan, MD

Dallas, TX

David Richardson, MD

Memphis, TN 

Scott Beecher Scutchfield, MD

Danville, KY 

Joe Wilkinson, MD

San Angelo, TX 

Andrew Matthew Wong, MD

Tallahassee, FL

Michele M Zembo, MD, MBA

New Orleans, LA

Western Region Members

City, State

Dwight W Burney III, MD

Albuquerque, NM 

Robert E Eilert, MD

Centennial, CO

Ramon L Jimenez, MD

Monterey, CA

Vicki Kalen, MD

Tucson, AZ

Todd Soung Kim, MD

Burlingame, CA 

Peter J Mandell, MD

Burlingame, CA

Kathryn Schabel, MD

Portland, OR 

Naomi Shields, MD

Wichita, KS 

John R Tongue, MD

Tualatin, OR

Staff Liaison: Susan McSorley